There’s a new Sherif in Town… ‘Politically Correctness’

A friend of mine wrote an article “Dear Professor, Do not be Shy.” Apparently he had an experience where the university professor seemed reluctant to engage a student on a very topical issue that would have garnered debate on issues of race, sexuality and even worse religion.

I was fascinated by the idea of Professors being “shy,” especially in the spirit of a rich academic environment such as university campus. This situation was familiar to me however. Permit me to point out the rising issue I believe my friend alluded to; and this is the disease of Politically Correctness, from which the USA suffers.

 

Well, maybe ’disease’ is a strong a word, but there’s an obvious issue that needs to be addressed in order to promote true freedom of speech and expression while also minimizing ‘foot in mouth’… another PC-related disease.

First, being politically correct is good. As a citizen of “Minority-ville,” I have hoped many times that individuals were either more PC or … lessPC. In its simplest terms, PC means being conscious in one’s speech and behaviour in order to minimize harm or offense to any individual or group. Note well, that being PC is not just to the benefit of minorities, but every individual deserves the right to respect.

If you’ve found yourself over-thinking before conversing with the elder lady, the black teacher, the Native American nurse, your gay classmate or your gay classmate who uses a wheelchair, then you’re probably familiar with ‘foot in mouth disease.’

Next, be aware of social realities. When someone says I’m pagan don’t express your ignorance with a funny face. It’s 2013, so be prepared to meet all the people that used to hide in the closet 100 years ago. Nothing should shock you too much! Unless you live in a hole… which reminds me, every American should make at least one international trip in his or her lifetime… but that’s another blog.

Expand your worldview. In University, I loved sharing my Jamaican culture especially with people who seemed to have done a little homework before asking questions. Save the stereotypes for stand-up comedy. We don’t all smoke weed or live in trees. This goes for all diverse groups. To expand your intelligence as a member of the new world, educate yourself.

Third, the university space is where we should argue and agree to disagree. Students, feel free to ask questions. Professors, feel free to create a safe space for debate. This is how we learn about each other. Christians have their beliefs. Atheists do too. If the man says he was born gay, for heaven’s sake, if you can’t respectfully articulate your disagreement, just admit to not understand the ‘phenomenon’ and move on.

To sum it up, use inclusive language when addressing an audience, we aren’t all men or ‘HEs.’ Always remember ‘people’ first if there’s a need to reference to physical or mental abilities. ‘Are you dating someone?’ is a safe question. And, if it so happens that someone expresses preference or dislike for a name or title, don’t invalidate his or her opinion. I can be called whatever I want, and change my mind 50 times about it. No, it’s not sarcasm. It’s my right.

Finally, remember our common characteristic is our humanity. Put yourself in someone else’s shoe. In describing and discussing each other remember we are all people first and by virtue of this, each person deserves “unconditional positive regard” (Alex Vega 2012)… See, at the end of the day, being PC, you aint even gotta like me. All I’m asking is for a little R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

Let’s keep the conversation going… Leave a comment

About @jayemcken

Jomain here. I care about a lot of things. I realise that I have anger management issues, when it comes to social injustice. So, I try not to overdose myself in negativity. Injustices, however cannot and should not be ignored. This blog is part of my therapy - a mess of metaphysical explanations and spiritual answers to the world. Be introduced to my craziness. I am Jomain George McKenzie Billionaire, Rotary Ambassador to the UK, life coach, theatre enthusiast, human rights voice and a Spiritual Guru in the making.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Human Rights. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Jumoke Patrick

    🙂 If we are routed in our beliefs and ways, we tend to shut up and try not to speak because our beliefs are so entrenched that it prevents us from even trying to be objective our “correct” in our responses or arguements. Good recommendations Sir!

  2. Jumoke Patrick

    *rooted*

  3. Perhaps my university in the US was unique, but my professors and classmates often actively engaged in debates on social justice issues. I actually completely disagree that everyone in the USA tries to be politically correct. In fact, it’s one of the countries where people are MOST able to speak out in favor or against any cause they want. We learn to debate at a young age (it’s part of school curriculum in 5th/6th grade) and is consistently used as a form of assessment in middle and high school classes in many different disciplines.

  4. You are right that the US ideologically encourages free speech. I’ve lived in the states (Oklahoma the longest) and most times I was a part of groups which weren’t afraid to debate and tackle the issues verbally. I’m sure you could testify. What I spoke of in my article are the human differences versus the ideological differences which often make us uncomfortable and often affect our ability to ‘freely’ engage people in discussions or even just a chat. One of my best mates in college was muslim and noticeably a middle easterner and I have seen many times people ask the most ridiculous questions because they were trying to be PC and were just over thinking. And I also have experienced (MANY TIMES), people admittedly hesitant to debate with me on issues of race, slavery, the ‘N’ word, sexuality, religion… because they didn’t know if I would be offended or not. I’ve been to a few places and I’ve only experienced that in the States. Not saying it’s everywhere, but it does exist.

Leave a Reply

Khmer Online Scholarship

International Scholarship Information

Petchary's Blog

Cries from Jamaica

Craig A. Bloomfield's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bernard PHILIPPE's public website

Stand up for a better future NOW !

Truth Uncut

@JayeMcKen... This is the revelation.

Watts Up With That?

The world's most viewed site on global warming and climate change

Culturally Speaking

Welcome to my world

@JayeMcKen... This is the revelation.

Recollections of a Foodie

Live. Love. Eat. [REPEAT]

